[UX] Account creation: Create Passkey re-enabled when password is valid #431
Labels
No labels
bug
chore
documentation
enhancement
help
in-progress
question
ready-for-release
released
translation
No milestone
No project
No assignees
1 participant
Notifications
Due date
No due date set.
Dependencies
No dependencies set.
Reference
adam/gate#431
Loading…
Add table
Add a link
Reference in a new issue
No description provided.
Delete branch "%!s()"
Deleting a branch is permanent. Although the deleted branch may continue to exist for a short time before it actually gets removed, it CANNOT be undone in most cases. Continue?
In the user signup screen, the following behavior is observed:
I believe this is because the Passkey button is grayed-out when the form is in an "invalid" state. Following this logic, a valid password will then re-enable the Passkey button.
I think it would be less confusing to users if either:
2 is definitely the harder and possibly more confusing option, so 1 should suffice.
Or, perhaps, registering a password and a passkey both could be considered mutually exclusive options that simply show the respective auth method has been registered, with a "Finish" button required to actually complete the flow.
This way, users who intend to login on multiple devices won't have to go back and create a password if they register a passkey first.
I haven't tested this yet, but I also imagine it can be tricky if users try to sign in on a device that doesn't support passkeys, but where it's their only auth method. This would make the "best UX" option registering a password first, then a passkey later, which could be an antipattern from a security standpoint.
Sorry for the ticket ramble. :) Thanks!
Thank you for opening an issue! I will update the logic so that the
SignupandSignup with Passkeybuttons on the registration page have separate enable/disable logic. This is not one of the listed options, but I think it will solve the immediate problem of not being able to register a passkey without a valid password entered, which makes no sense.Closing cuz fix has been merged!